Tattoos In the Workplace? What are your thoughts

 

Let me start with the fact that I am not against tattoos. I have worked with many people who have had tattoos in the workplace and they have been the best employees that I have ever seen. I have also seen some of the worst employees have tattoos. I believe that that tattoo doesn’t make the person (unless the tattoo is a racial or negative tattoo).

I am reminded of a time when I was in school and my biology teacher told us how she locked her keys in her car. People kept walking past her without giving her a second glance. Then these two people covered in tattoos came over to her and asked if she was alright? My teacher stated she was nervous when they started walking over because she thought they were looking for trouble since they had tattoos. In the end they were the most polite people she has ever met and they helped her get into her car. This event happened over ten years ago, but the story remains fresh in my mind.

Recently, I was working with a client who had door to door reps and I was working with a person who had tattoos on his arm. I noticed that some people would not even give him a second of their time because of the tattoos (one of which is a cross and the other was a heart with a crown), but they listened to me. Then there were other times when people preferred him over me. It was like they felt a connection seeing that he had tattoos.  So it led me to think about the acceptance of tattoos in the workplace. Is there an age group where we need to hide the expressions we made on our bodies?

Even though I do not have any tattoos (yet), I feel like people who get them are expressing something that is important to them or a life event that they will cherish forever. It’s a picture they will carry with them forever. As an example, my brother got a tattoo of his daughter’s footprints on his chest to remind him of the best day of his life.

In the end I think that tattoos should be embraced in the workplace since they are a form of expression. Would we stop a person from showing us a picture of their pet or family? I know I wouldn’t. Or would you stop someone from wearing a pin of their favorite band or symbol (assuming it wasn’t offensive)?

 

I want to hear your feedback on how you feel.

GBC, Gagliardobc.com, Gagliardo business coaching, sales training, SEO, Management, tattoo

Acceptability of tattoos in the workplace

Gagliardobc.com

About Peter Gagliardo

I spend all my time improving myself and others. I have my Sales Training Matrix which has helped over 2,000 people on a personal training level as well as a corporate training level. I keep in constant contact with all my friends to see how they are doing and how I can help them improve. We are never done training, and I make sure I am there for you when you need me. What system do I use? I use the 4-5-8 system. I bet you want to know more. Visit my page at gagliardobc.com View all posts by Peter Gagliardo

Leave a comment