How to increase Website Traffic: Part 2

GBC- Gagliardo Business Coaching SEO Sales Training, Management Increase traffic to your website 

We already discussed three of the ten ways to increase traffic in part 1, so now we will discuss 4-6 ways to increase website traffic.

These three topics have to do with the dreaded Search Engines and Social Media.

4) Improve your search engine ranking. This can be accomplished by focusing your content on keywords related to your topic. If your topic is about lead paint, make sure lead paint is mentioned in your content. This is called search engine optimization and this will help people find your website when they’re searching on Google, Bing, or yahoo. Make sure the keywords flow naturally with the text and make up only about 18% of your content. Anymore and it may harm your chances of ranking well. Google and Bing algorithm is set up to determine how often your keyword is used compared to other information. If your key word count is high, they will assume it is spam. Make sure you use words that everyone will use. Keywords not only go into headings and page names but also into “meta tags”. “Meta tags” are the software code that website visitors do not see but search engines do. When inserting graphics, you need to add your key words into you “Alt tag”. Search engines do not see pictures, but the “alt tag” allows them to know what the picture is for.
5) Get linked. This is a very important! You need to exchange links. Trading links with other websites that are closely related to the subject of your website can bring you more website traffic.  However, Be VERY CAREFUL, linking to low-quality websites can threaten the credibility of yours. Only link to sites that are dead on topic, and truly help your visitors. Try and get on .edu websites.
Links are not all you can do. You could also use or trade banner ads or other Ads.

If you get a lot of links overnight, it will be harmful too. Also, do not make trading links your entire link building method. A Google webmaster guideline specifically says to not engage in link schemes including: Excessive reciprocal links or excessive link exchanging (“Link to me and I’ll link to you.”)

Use social media. Post compelling, beneficial, and useful content and you’ll soon build a loyal following. I used to think I wanted the same followers on twitter, facebook, wordpress, linkedin, etc. but I have learned that having different followers on each site is more beneficial. When you Follow and share with other users, most likely they will reciprocate and follow you. Keeping up to date with social media and finding time to post can be tricky, but it’s well worth it. Let people talk and become part of a community (if you look at my website, GBC, I have my email list as community news) and they’ll promote your content for you. This will save you a great deal of time, and they will share much further than via conventional strategies.

Related articles

About Peter Gagliardo

I spend all my time improving myself and others. I have my Sales Training Matrix which has helped over 2,000 people on a personal training level as well as a corporate training level. I keep in constant contact with all my friends to see how they are doing and how I can help them improve. We are never done training, and I make sure I am there for you when you need me. What system do I use? I use the 4-5-8 system. I bet you want to know more. Visit my page at gagliardobc.com View all posts by Peter Gagliardo

Leave a comment